General info


Kyrgyzstan is located in Central Asia; it bordered with a countries such as Kazakhstan on the north, Uzbekistan on the west, Tajikistan on the south and China on the east and south - east. When the Sovien Union was collapsed in 1991 our country became an independent state. There are about one million people live in the capital of the Kyrgyz Republic in the Bishkek city. There are 6 millions inhabitants in Kyrgyzstan and the area of Kyrgyz Land is 198.500 km2.

The highest point is 7 437 m - Peak Pobeda (Victory Peak)
The lowest point is 401 m - The Laikal district in the Ferghana Valley
The average elevation is 2 750 m
The elevation of Bishkek city is 750 m 
93% of the territory of  Kyrgyzstan located at the altitude higher than 1500 m above sea level, and 41% above 3000m. above sea level 

198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
The area of the country is similar to England. The area o the territory is nearly equal to the combined areas of Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
925 km East-West: 453 km North-South 
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders is 4508 km.

Neighboring Countries 
China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan. 

6 million 
The density is 24 per sq. km    
38% - urban, 62% - rural
51% - female, 49% - male
About one sixth of the population lives in Bishkek.

The Kyrgyz are just over 50% of the population. There are 70 nations in Kyrgyzstan the main are:     
The Russians (17%), Uzbeks (13%), Ukrainians, Germans and Tartars.
40% of the population is at the age under 14 years old and 8% of the population is at the age over 60 years old.

Muslim (Sunni), and Russian Orthodox.

State language is Kyrgyz language.  Official language is Russian language (especially use in the capital and Northern region)